Rich with happiness

I know its still currently 2012.

The main focus for the moment for most people is Christmas, luckily or not luckily my family have never been into the whole festive season so I don’t have to worry about presents. Stupidly I act as if we do, I think its partially wanting to fit in with everyone else, work colleagues, friends, the world! I do buy presents for friends but as a family unit we never did Christmas. Ever. Well we have Christmas dinner but that’s as far as it goes. I do think I missed out as a child and there’s nothing I can do about it now.

So that’s why my focus goes beyond Christmas as its never been a priority.

So now I’m focused on 2013.

2012 has been a rough year for me, I want to make sure 2013 isn’t. I’ve started a jar. The idea is that I fill the jar with notes of good things that happen, almost like a money box but of happiness. So on a bad day I’ll open the jar and read about the good things that happen no matter how big or small.

I was saving the jar for the start of 2013 but I thought I may as well start now, I’ve had a few bad days but looking at the jar alone is enough. I haven’t had to open it yet! A friend of mine is going through similar days to me, I’ve suggested the concept to her and I hope it helps her.

There are so many good things that happen that get forgotten about and overwritten with negative things. This is just a good way of making sure they’re not overlooked.

It’s like a breath of fresh air. My bank balance may not match my happiness jar but I can top that balance up more often! Hopefully in 2013 I’ll be rich – with happiness

Leave a Reply

